Mothering Forum banner

Outdoor Preschool Program- what would you want/expect?

1K views 10 replies 11 participants last post by  journeywooz 
#1 ·
Hi,

I've been musing for several years about starting an outdoor preschool program. I'm trying to form more specific goals for this program. If you wouldn't mind responding to this thread to give me some initial feedback I would greatly appreciate it!

Keep in mind: I live in Massachusetts, so it gets cold and icy here!

Would you enroll your child in a preschool program which is predominantly outside all school year?

Would you enroll them as an alternative to a regular preschool or as a supplement in addition to their regular preschool?

Would you want/expect "academics" to a part of this program (reading, math skills, etc.)?

How many days a week would you be interested in (3-5 years old)? How many hours?

Would you prefer to enroll for a whole year or have the option of only signing up by semester?

If your child is in half day kindergarten, would you be interested in this as an afternoon program for them?

What would you expect in the way of access to shelter and bathrooms?

What would you expect to be the lowest temperature in which children are allowed to remain outside?

What percentage of outdoor time vs. indoor time would be ideal for you? (i.e. 75% of time outside, 25% inside, etc.)

Any other concerns/opinions/ideas?

Thanks so much!

See less See more
#2 ·
I'll start by saying my kids are 10 and 14. We've been through the preschool thing and I taught preschool for the state for several years. We life in Southern California and preschool kids typically spend half their day outside as it is. Indoor time is typically spent at sensory tables and with play items better suited for indoors. There are some outdoor only preschool programs but they are run through the adult school and involve both child and parent in unison. They meet all over the county.