Working in the classroom with own child!!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 01-27-2012, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I started a new job this week...toddler preschool teacher. I have been a preschool teacher for many years and have no issue with the actual profession. On Monday I will be bringing in my DS and he will be part of my classroom. Now....I recently left a job in which I was the teacher in his class at another school. This arrangement was awful and I do believe the biggest conflict with the school itself (poor routine, management, staffing issues, etc.). Because my first experience was pretty rough, I am wondering if any other mom's out there have suggestions on how to make this an easy and/or pleasant transition. I have a few ideas of my own, but would love the input of other mom's that have perhaps been in this same situation.

#2 of 7 Old 01-27-2012, 06:22 PM

#3 of 7 Old 01-27-2012, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter

Yes, I have been thinking about the issue that will be ahead of me. Because my previous experience was so rough, I am worried not much will have changed. My son is 2 1/2 years old and so he is right at the cusp of being a "big boy" and still being a baby. I am working on potty training so that he could advance to the next classroom, but can't rush him into that. Unfortunately it is a small school and so there really aren't multiple classes for the different ages. I guess it'll have to be one of those things that will have to be dealt with once we have both gone through the day and see how it unfolds. Thank you for your input.

#4 of 7 Old 01-28-2012, 05:32 AM

#5 of 7 Old 01-28-2012, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter