packing lunch, need ideas - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 07-29-2012, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

what quick, healthy lunches do you send to school with your kids? Ds wants to pack his lunch and  I am drawing a blank other than cold cut sandwiches, veggies and fruit. Please spell it out for me, I am new to this!

supermod.gif semi crunchy single student super mama to DS 7wave.gif and DD 3shy.gif. Falling in stillheart.gif with single super dad superhero.gif to DD5kissy.gif and DD2energy.gif 
#2 of 8 Old 07-29-2012, 10:07 PM

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
When I had to pack my dd lunch I did peanut butter and honey tortillas, cheese and meat rolled together and crackers on the side, boiled eggs, trail mix and a muffin, cold chicken strips, and cold pasta salads. I would switch up the bread and do traditional sandwich toppings on mini pitas, mini bagels, rolls, hotdog buns, etc... I always sent fruit and veggies of some sort to and typically sent milk. Cookie cutters liven up sandwiches a lot and there are some beautiful cutters that work on fruit and vegetables that might also work. I suggest that you save these things for when lunch starts seeming boring though.
#3 of 8 Old 07-29-2012, 10:10 PM

That is the traditional sack lunch, what do you eat for lunch? What will your kid eat? You can also do veggie sticks and dip with cheese and crackers, bagels and cream cheese, thermos soups, boiled eggs, pasta salad, anything that you can eat cold.  Salads will work too.  But yes, sandwiches are the go to thing.