organizations/newsletters on best practices in public schools? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 10-06-2013, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I'm very new to being a public school parent -- my older DD started kindergarten at an urban public school last month.

As I've begun to get involved with the PTA and various other groups of parents that want to advocate for changes within the school and the school district, I feel like a lot of what we discuss is probably re-inventing the wheel.

Is there some nonprofit, thinktank, or other organization that summarizes successes that other public schools are having, experiments that worked, new research, best practices?

I'm less interested in the issues of standardized testing and academic achievement (although I would love to learn if there are schools/school districts/teachers/etc. who have found ways to opt-out or minimize the impact of the testing on their teaching and learning!), but more interested in "whole child" issues like:
recess policies
lunch policies/management
discipline/classroom management
being a school and parent community that are inclusive of economic, racial, and language diversity
handwashing
parent /PTA fundraising
hands-on learning
running PTA meetings that people want to attend and get involved with
etc.

In my ideal world, I could sign up for some newsletter or e-newsletter that would send me ideas and reports from around the country every week/month!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 9 Old 10-06-2013, 12:38 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Try nea.org?

#3 of 9 Old 10-06-2013, 02:17 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)

The What Works Clearinghouse has stuff wrt discipline and behavior.  Check it out once the government gets its act together.

#4 of 9 Old 10-06-2013, 06:19 PM

Quoted: 9 Post(s)