Mothering Forum banner

School Transition

5K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  VsAngela 
#1 ·
Hello

I am new to the school system and my daughter who started ( JK) is going through what I can only think is Anxiety. Its a huge class 28 students.

1.) She is not sleeping well
2.) Not eating her lunch
3.) Being more aggressive with other kids
4.) More meltdowns

I would really like to hear from other parents if they have seen big changes in their child's behaviour when they started school.

Thanks

#2 ·
Is this kindergarten? 28 is a very big class!!!

I saw a big change in my first born when he went to school. He has an intense temperament anyway, but he had a difficult time from the beginning all the way through until about early November. Just really grumpy, more tantrums, less regulated all the way around. Everything upset him. Things finally leveled off after he adjusted to it.

School nowadays places a lot of demands on children. There is the whole social piece; if a child is not well connected with friends already, or has to work at social skills, this is very draining. Academically there are big challenges. If a child struggles to be self regulated with all the sitting and impulse control, it is just exhausting. All of this added up can create a huge adjustment problem.

I think the good news is this: home is a haven where things can be the same, demands can be reduced, nourishing foods can be eaten, rocking and reading can happen. Whenever the demands outside the home were too much, I would scale back at home, keep the routines simple, cook soup! This is not the time to add extra soccer practices or have your child audition for community theater. Each of us, our kids included, need time to pull back and regroup when the challenges 'out there' are really great. All of us get "dysregulated" by big changes and need to put more rhythm and nurturing routines back into our lives to get back into balance.