sensitive racial questions/ choosing schools - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 07-07-2004, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hi,

I have been homeschooling for two years and am considering putting at least one of my children in school. However, I live in a troubled urban school district so my choices for school are imperfect at best.

My children are Hispanic, but, all of them except one appear white. They don't speak Spanish either, so for all intents and purposes, they are white, except for my one daughter that is a little darker. People sometimes think she is half Asian or Indian. Why do I mention this, you might ask. Because the three schooling options available to them have very different racial make-ups.

The public school is 50% Hispanic, 25% Black, 25% White. That seems like an ok mix as far as I'm concerned, but the test scores at that school are so-so (anywhere from 30-50% at level in math and reading, meaning some classes have 50-70% kids below level) and 90% of the children qualify for free lunch. In other words, most come from very poor families.

Then, there are two private school near me that I would consider. One is 95% black, 5% white. The other is the reverse. 95% white, 5% minority. I am reluctant to send my kids to a school where they will be in the racial minority, because I don't want them to be picked on. In the black school, they would be treated as though they were white. But I'm worried that in the white school, my darker daughter might be picked on.

So do you think I should opt for the racially mixed but poor public school, or choose one of the private schools? Between the two private schools, the white school has higher test scores, but both are better than the public school.

TIA!!
#2 of 25 Old 07-07-2004, 11:19 PM