Votes: 4 4.3%
  • A complete scam made up by schools and doctors

Votes: 22 23.9%
  • Other

Votes: 45 48.9%

Adhd

10K views 141 replies 33 participants last post by  102212 
#1 ·
What do you think? Does the "disease" exist? Have any of your kids had experience being drugged or narrowly escaping it?

#2 ·
One of my daughters has been diagnosed with ADD (not hyperactive type) and does take medication. It's not our only recourse, but we feel that it's what's best for her and our family at this time. I have it as well, though it hasn't been formally diagnosed. Once Alec has weaned I will probably seek out medication as well. I hate living like this and until recently didn't know that other people don't live like I do. It sucks.

#3 ·
I voted other...
I majored in Special Education, and have had some experience with ADD/ADHD. I think it exists, but that it's not exactly a disease. More of a set of behaviors taken to the extreme (picture a continuum of behavior, people with ADD/ADHD all the way on one side). I think many people may exhibit some of these behaviors at some time in their life. I think that it is exacerbated by the school setting and the unrealistic expectations schools have for children. I believe that medication is warrented in some cases. HOWEVER...I think that ADD/ADHD is SEVERELY over-diagnosed and over-medicated.

#5 ·
YOu guys are right, it's not a disease. It is a different way of thinking, a different way for the brain to act. However, it's not like these kids start exhibiting the behaviors only when school starts. Even if my daughter were homeschooled she would still be on medication. I think that if you don't live with it every day in your life, you can't fully understand what it's like. It sucks!

#6 ·