Time, February 21, 2005, cover story...Teachers and Parents - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 02-19-2005, 05:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
As a parent and teacher I read the story with interest.

Anyone else?

Any reactions you would like to share?

"The great enemy of the truth is very often not the lie, deliberate, contrived and dishonest, but the myth, persistent, persuasive and unrealistic."
#2 of 18 Old 02-19-2005, 12:16 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is this on-line?

a

The anti-Ezzo king
#3 of 18 Old 02-19-2005, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter

www.time.com

"The great enemy of the truth is very often not the lie, deliberate, contrived and dishonest, but the myth, persistent, persuasive and unrealistic."
#4 of 18 Old 02-19-2005, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter

Since I am not very good at this, try

http://www.time.com.time/magazine/0,...101050221.html

or

www.time.com.time.covers/1101050221/story.html

or

http://www.time.com/time/covers/0,16...010127,00.html

the cover of the August 27, 2001 edition.

#5 of 18 Old 02-19-2005, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter

O.K., I give up.

#6 of 18 Old 02-19-2005, 01:12 PM

I got the beggining of the story, but I can't get it without subscribing.

But the point was made. And now I too am remembering many a "discussion" with parents.

a

The anti-Ezzo king
#7 of 18 Old 02-19-2005, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter

Yes, me too.

As a parent, I can remember a teacher telling me that my daughter was not motivated to learn. I thought to myself, "Isn't that your job, to motivate children to learn?" I put her in another school, and tried to motivate her myself. No way. She is still very stubborn. She has this problem in life all the time.

#8 of 18 Old 02-19-2005, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter