KinderMusik VS Music Together - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-03-2006, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I hope this fits here.
I want to sign my DS (9mons) up for a music class. I have talked with people who have done KM and MT and both say they loved them. Which do you like better? Why?
HELP! Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-03-2006, 01:39 PM

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I am a former preschool music teacher...in the public school setting..but very familiar with both KM and MT...You may be aware that MT has a much more folk-song/family centered music philosophy. KM is a little more music as an art or preparation for real study...still play oriented but focused more on product rather than process.

Just my opinion overall.

In our area, at least, MT caters more towards the crunchy AP crowd. More mainstream moms choose KM...that could be specific to our region though, not sure.

HTH

Me, 42
Hubs, 44
Married 22 years
Two boys 11 and 9
and a HUGE surprise: I'm almost 10 weeks pregnant!
Old 01-04-2006, 09:41 PM

Hi, Liz

I stumbled onto your thread, and I thought I'd share my local experience... We started Sarah in Kindermusik when she was 3 months old (definitely more for me at that point than for her). She LOVES it. We take it with Peggy Durbin, who I think is the only local KM person at the moment. She's terrific, and she definitely engages kids in a gentle, age appropriate way (kids aren't forced to do stuff they don't want to do, etc.). Unfortunately, Peggy's moving at the end of the year, so this Spring will be her last semester. If you and Makena are going to be in State College longer than that, you might want to consider Music Together just for the sake of continuity (assuming you both like it and decide to continue). I don't know much about the Music Together class, although as I recall it was more expensive than KM (I could be misremembering, though).

Hope to see you guys again soon

Lisa