kids do not have to do homework - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 59 Old 02-12-2006, 02:18 AM - Thread Starter
Banned

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I posted in another thread that kids do not have to do homework in elementary school. I am a teacher and I know that parents have the right to say they would like less, more, or no homework at all. Rather than hijacking the other thread to reply, here is my response to flyingspaghettimama's question:

Quote:
Thread-jumping here...boongirl,is that really possible? Would teachers be miffed by a parent saying this? Up to what grade level could a parent say this without getting their kid in trouble (assuming I know she already knows how to do the work, it's just busywork for her and a power struggle for us, etc)? Second, third grade, higher?