school..kind of a vent... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 02-08-2003, 11:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Haven't posted for a while but here goes...
My dd started school last month after much consideration from myself and dh, we did consider home schooling, but I'm a student and I have an 8 month old...plus my dd is a spirited socialite to say the least!

It's a ps, I'm in the UK and live in an area where all schools are over subscribed so basically you get a place at the nearest school to you. I probably have more problems with it than my dd - I'm just looking for some advice or at least reassurance!

DD doesn't want to go to school in the mornings, but when she comes out she tells me how much she loves school (she is always happy, singing/skipping, etc) - then when we get home she kind of has a complete melt down over everything, in some ways it's like we've regressed back to the toddler tantrum stage.
Am I the only one that this happens to?...

This probably sounds terrible but some of the children are also just awful - if my dd doesn't have the right shoes/bag/lunch/etc then she gets picked on (she's only 4) - plus there is all this 'girls don't play with boys' stuff going on - argh!!!! And what is it with sweets after school?...I think my dd is only one of a handful that doesn't get them which again causes lots of whining...

Other rants, too much reading and writing, too many rules, too bigger classes, not enough teachers..plus when I try to go into school in the morning to help dd with her coat, etc the classroom assistant almost pushes me outside and shuts the door!...

It feels so good to get this out

Thanks for listening

Maisie
#2 of 8 Old 02-09-2003, 01:00 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)