taking ds out of Montessori school when i have baby - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-14-2003, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My gut is telling me not to do it, but I feel kind of weird about it...
ds (will be 3 in June) is in a toddler program at a wonderful Montessori school--he loves the school, is close to the teachers and his friends and I feel like he's getting a lot out of it. It's also helped us to meet people in the city and to have another community-like setting.
I am due with our second child in the beginning of October and will take the Fall semester off (i'm a student). I will go back in the spring, and will "need" the school again in the spring (although dh will stay at home with baby 2 mornings a week, so I guess we wouldn't exactly need it--hadn't thought of that yet).
So...ds could stay at home with me and the baby, or he could do a half day at the school, and then come home with me and the baby. I was thinking that keeping his school routine and contact with his friends there would help him adjust to a new baby and a new house (we're moving), and that would be one less thing to change in his life. It would also help me out in the early days with the new baby, I would think. The cons are that it does cost a pretty penny, but we can afford it. Most of all, I feel kind of weird putting him in a program if I'll be home anyway. But, on the other hand, I think it would be best for all of us, and we really, really love this school...
My mother thinks this is ridiculous and that we should just pull him out, no questions asked.
Has anyone else been in this situation? Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-14-2003, 01:47 PM