talk to me about scholastic book orders - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 32 Old 10-22-2006, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hi there. my dd just started junior kindergarten this year and i am new to the scholastic book orders. we placed our first order this month, we got a ton of books at great prices, but i was wondering if anyone can enlighten me on how the school benefits from this. i know they get supplies for the classroom, but what kind of things? anything else i should know about these book orders?

billie-jo
#2 of 32 Old 10-22-2006, 06:26 PM

The classroom gets a point for every dollar spent and then can redeem the points for books/supplies for the classroom. They can be books for kids to read, reference books for the teacher to use, etc.

Michelle -mom to Katlyn 4/00 , Jake 3/02, and Seth 5/04
#3 of 32 Old 10-22-2006, 11:43 PM

I am a teacher and I love Scholastic book orders. It is a great way to get books dirt cheap. I have built up my personal library at home and my classroom library through using them over my 8 years of teaching.

Schools/classrooms don't get anything but bonus points for the orders. They are kind of like airline miles. For every dollar spent by parents, the teacher earns one point and many of the orders give double and triple points. The points can then be used for orderin more children's books, teaching materials, or supplies or if you save them up over time, teachers can get cameras and stuff.

I personally don't use the points for profit. I tell the parents in the beginning of the year that their investment into the books is two-fold...1, their child gets books to help them grow as readers, and 2, I use all the points I earn to get books my students want in the classroom library (so long as they are not SpongeBob and other junk books).

It really is a great resource...you can get chapter books for $.95 when it is $4.95 at B&N...