DS Threatened By Another Child At Recess - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 05-27-2003, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DS has life-threatening nut allergies and another fourth-grader took a bag of pistachios out of his pocket at recess and waved it in DS's face.
Not entirely sure how the school has handled it; I'm still fact-finding. Child apparently had to call home to tell his parents what he did. I have heard nothing from them; I was expecting a call of apology. Stupid me.
Any courses of action you mamas can suggest?
#2 of 10 Old 05-27-2003, 10:53 PM

I'm no expert on the way schools handle things, but my daughter is allergic to peanut so I am full of empathy for you and your son.

I would continue fact-finding and I would make the school aware that you consider this to be a threat to your child. Other people will not see it this way because they don't think of nuts as a dangerous substance. If you think it is the equivalent of waving a knife at your son, make sure the administration knows that, and that they communicate this to the other parents and to the students.

If your school is nut-free, you should help the teachers and students be aware of why they need to be vigilant about it. They also need to understand that the playground is part of it. Sometimes people seem to think that food allergies don't count out in the fresh air.

If it is an ongoing issue, you'd be wise to think of it like any other kind of bullying. Barbara Colorosso's book "The Bully, the Bullied and the Bystander" is excellent for everyone involved.
#3 of 10 Old 05-28-2003, 01:17 AM - Thread Starter

Thank you for the book rec. I have done all my fact finding and dh is going to talk with the principal and tell her that we consider this an assault, and any court would, also. We really love the school but the kid involved has apparently been a bully for years (we're fairly new in the school). This stuff just flattens me.