Our Charter application was rejected... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 07-04-2003, 05:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
...due to non compliance with ADA regulations. This meant that I would have to homeschool, something I am just not ready for for various reasons.

BUT!

The administartor at the school offered me a teaching assistant job
It's going to pay for the rest of the three boys tuition that isn't covered by their scholarships! I just can't believe my luck!

However, I am a little wary of working with little kids like this. I have zero experience in younger-aged classrooms, my focus has always been with teens and young adults. I am really nervous about this, although I HAVE to accept this job for my kids to continue going there.

Anyone have any experiences like this they can share? Any advice at all?
#2 of 5 Old 07-06-2003, 10:37 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
sorry to hear about the charter not making it, but it sounds like there is a bit of silver lining....

what age are you going to be teaching with ? (you said younger than teens/adults, but didn't mention age/grade).

Depending on the age, I'm sure the folks who come to this board topic will have a lot to offer-- there are always lots of current and past teachers, folks married to teachers, etc. posting here. Tell us more!

#3 of 5 Old 07-12-2003, 12:20 AM

Can your school re-apply for their charter after they have made the changes needed. They are willing to make such changes?

My kids go to a charter Montessori, and when the charter was being written, we did make a few concessions knowing that we would most likely be denied if we didn't.

We were granted our charter and last year was our first charter year. The school had been private for 15 years prior to that.