What do you look for in a pre-school? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 07-16-2003, 04:49 PM
G&K

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am starting to decide what I want to do with my 2 1/2 year old DD - pre-school vs. no pre-school, homeschool vs. school, etc. I am completely confused and overwhelmed, but luickily I have a while to worry about it! In the meantime I am going to go look at some pre-schools in the area just so I know what they are all about (I was an elementary teacher, but never hung out at pre-schools). Is this too early to look if I wouldn't plan on sending her until next Jan./Feb. at the earliest?

So, what should I look for in a good pre-school? What sort of questions should I ask when I visit? I know I am looking at class size and attendance requirements (if I decide to send her next year I don't want it to be every day), but are there any things you wish you had known or are glad you asked?

Thank you!
#2 of 6 Old 07-17-2003, 12:00 AM

There are two big things for me:

Discipline
You'd be amazed at what some folks think is a good way to treat a child. Make sure the way of disciplining the child is what you'd want for your babe. Find out if the teachers are given regular training to help them in this area. Even preschool teachers have had bad experiences that can lead them to act in inappropriate ways with little ones, but training can help them get past that.

Academics
I'm a big fan of learning through play, and I couldn't care less if my kids know how to write letters or add or read at any particular stage of their lives. Make sure your dc's teacher is on the same wavelength as you, or everyone could get frustrated.

Smaller things to think about are: