PreK Foreign Language Immersion - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 11-14-2008, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am not interested in discussing the merits of preK education. I am a full time student and unable to spend the entire day with my son so he must attend preschool. Daycare is not an option.

We are in the process of applying to two schools for the 2009-2010 school year. One school is AMI Montessori and the other is a Foreign Language Immersion Program.

Every other day is spent with the Foreign language teacher and the other days are spent with the English speaking teacher. A child who enters the program at the age of 3 is able to converse in their instructed language by the time the child enters the first grade.

I would like to know the pros and cons of foreign language immersion programs geared towards preschool aged children. This is an established school with an IB diploma program and graduates who attend higher ranking colleges and universities.

Has anyone else enrolled their 3 or 4 year old in a foreign language immersion program?

+ + =
#2 of 22 Old 11-14-2008, 06:28 PM

I have not but I am not aware of any downsides. There would be a temporary deceleration in vocabulary acquisition in the native tongue that is of no particular consequence, unless you're doing competitive IQ testing. I would think you would increase the chance that your child would move abroad as an adult. If you don't know the second language, they may be able to put more over on you with their cohorts in a few years. I'm just pulling stuff out of my arse now. It's a good gift to give a child, to let them learn another language in these years.
#3 of 22 Old 11-14-2008, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter