exercise...what are you planning? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 11-22-2008, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
I've read all over the place about exercise helping with so many aspects of pregnancy, so I really want to be diligent about it. The problem is I have zero exercise habit right now. I lead a moderately active life, I'm a full time student, and walk 15 minutes to/from the bus stops every day and the 15 minutes to work and back, as well as traipsing up and down the stairs at school everyday, but I think some more sustained activity would be beneficial. We have an exercise bike, and I think I'm going to start trying to do the 30 minute program on that at least 3 times a week, and I'd really like to get back into some yoga.

What are everyone else's plans?

Mommy to DS1 July '09 and DS2 Oct '12 and someone new in May '15

#2 of 18 Old 11-22-2008, 09:44 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I run and my goal right now is to stick to at least two runs each week until it becomes too uncomfortable. Today I did my long run, 10k, and I really realized how much of an impact this pregnancy is having on my body already between the higher heart rate and the very necessary bathroom break half way through!

My Christmas present from my parents is a pass to the pool/gym so I'm going to take advantage of the exercise equipment and drop in fitness classes as much as I can. I've also got some DVD's at home including a pregnancy yoga one that seems pretty neat so I'll try to work those in.

Kim - Wife to Liam , Unschooly mama to Nick (10/00) Lily (09/05) and Olivia (07/09)
#3 of 18 Old 11-22-2008, 09:54 PM

Running for a while. Walking throughout. And belly dancing for optimal fetal positioning!

-Shannon, momma to H reading.gif 8/03, N heartbeat.gif 9/06, & P homebirth.jpg 8/11, missing S brokenheart.gif born at 11 wks 1/09 

#4 of 18 Old 11-22-2008, 10:33 PM