Reassurance? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-02-2009, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first pregnancy.

I just found out last Friday, so my head is still reeling.

I have wanted this for over a year and am not aware of ever having been pregnant before...so I have no experience to draw on.

I am terrified that I am going to m/c. I have no real reasons to guess that I should...I am healthy, do not smoke, do not drink (before this had an average of maybe two drinks per month), I am of proper weight, I don't have any chronic illnesses or syndromes...

I do have a history of lots of anxiety and I know this is my downfall and weakness and probably will be for the rest of my life. And I'm sure I'm likely to pass this along to my kid(s), too. The anxiety seems to get better for me when I get reassurance or have stuff to read that helps me understand everything that is going on.

I have been reading some of the Mayo Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy, and of course all I can see are the scary things, like that 15-20% of pregnancies end in miscarriage. And that 1 out of 60 are ectopic. Blah blah blah...you know? Why can't I see that 80-85% are OK?

Maybe I should have just stuck my head in the sand and not tested until I was like 10 weeks late! lol. Naw, that wouldn't have been an answer either.

My few family members and friends I've shared my news with have high hopes and so do I, but is there pain associated with a miscarriage that I should watch out for? My midwife-friend said it feels like cramps that come with AF, or a little stronger. Anything else?

Thank you!!

Birthed a beautiful baby boy, Ethan, 11/11/09.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-02-2009, 04:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cellist View Post