Birth plan shot to hell by OB (depressing update) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-11-2009, 03:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Sorry this is long, but I have never written one of these before and would really like advice/insight before I present it to my OB. And then once I go over it with her, do I re-write it according to what is actually feasible according to hospital policy? I just want to be ready this time but have no idea where to start or how to proceed. TIA for reading and commenting!

Cesarean Birth Informed Consent / Refusal for Dawn * ***** and Her Newborn

I realize that cesareans are a common event in hospitals. However, I ask that the staff respect that this individual surgery is a unique and never-to-be-repeated event in the life of my family. For us, it is neither common nor routine, but rather is an event that will have effects lasting a lifetime. It is my goal that as a cesarean is necessary for this birth, that the entire process be treated as the joyful, celebratory and respectful event that birth was meant to be.

This cesarean birth plan is intended to express the preferences, consents and refusals I have for the the birth of my baby during my planned cesarean. It is not intended to be a script. I fully realize that situations may arise such that my plan cannot be followed. However, barring any extenuating circumstances, I request you keep me informed and aware of my options. Thank you.

- I do not consent to sedatives or amnesiac medications being administered, pre or post-op.

- I prefer epidural anesthesia.

- I do not consent to a catheter being inserted until after anesthesia is administered.

- I do not consent to strapping my arms down, unless I am unable to control them.

- I do not consent to (partner) being separated from me at any time.