Anybody work outside of the home? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 07-03-2009, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Do you work full-time or part-time? And what are your plans while pregnant and then after your babe is born?

To answer my own questions, I work part-time (11-16 hours per week) at a local coffee shop! It's my very favorite job in the world (um, besides mothering). I'm very much extroverted and here I get paid to: make coffe (yay!), drink coffee (yay!) and talk to people (yay!). I've worked there about 10 months thus far, quite by chance. I was a SAHM for three years before venturing out to working again. Before that I was a Sports Editor for the local newspaper office. It was a great job but the hours were terrible.

As for plans while pregnant... I plan to continue working... I haven't told anybody there yet (haha.. I haven't told ANYBODY anyway!). I am running around and on my feet the whole time there, but since no shift is longer than four hours (well, one is six hours, but I don't get it often), I don't think it should be a problem.

Plans after this babe is born? I'm up in the air. I truly love my job because it's such a necessary outlet for me. I *need* interaction with people. It's part of who I am. And I love the people that come in to the coffee shop and they love me too ... but... I think my job first and foremost is mothering... So I might see what can be worked out. Maybe I'd only work 4-8 hours per week or something for a while. Nothing huge, but getting out of the house for a *bit*. ... Childcare would also be an issue. Right now, it's easy for my mom to watch my three girls (and she loves it! So do they!)... but she only has a small car in which three carseats barely fit across the back. Four wouldn't work.

Dh is off Sun-Tues... so maybe I could just get a few hours Mondays and Tuesdays... who knows... it's a long way off so I have time to ponder.