Carseats? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 07-23-2009, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, I feel odd here, since I'm a veteran mama and this is my 5th...but I've been thinking about just getting a convertable carseat for this one and not getting an infant carseat (unless we're gifted one). I pretty much always got with Britax for my convertable, which I know are mostly rated to 5 pounds.

I dont know...its just my fiance pretty much always wants to carry the baby (ie, my ds that's almost a year old) and I know he'll want to carry the new one even more. I also see how an infant carseat is handy when they fall asleep and really NEED that nap-taking them out for me always wakes them up. But I just dont know if I can justify buying a new one. Oh, and I have a nice one as is, its only a year old and goes to 30lbs (Chicco KeyFit 30) but my ex has the base and I doubt he'll give it back. The extra bases for it are $70!! ACK!

I dont know what to do and it annoys me...I'm being so indicisive....so, what are your plans?

Cari-mama to Eriq, Lile, Paikea, Kaidyn, and Mieke is here!! 2/9/10
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 15 Old 07-23-2009, 10:45 PM

We'll likely buy a new infant seat, even though it's a bit wasteful. Our original infant seat will be about 4.5-5 years old by the March, so in theory, we could use it. However, it's been stored in the garage, there have been heat fluctuations, etc. Not to mention the fact that I was never terribly fond of it in the first place. My parents bought it for us and it's Winnie the Pooh. I have disliked Winnie the Pooh since I was 3 years old. It was an odd choice.