Older child tips please! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 06-07-2010, 06:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The first six weeks seemed to go pretty well, but now our 3-year-old is seriously feeling it. Disobeying, provoking us, hitting us, won't go to sleep, etc.

I realize I have to spend more one-on-one time with him and make him feel loved. But how to do that with this babe...

Anyone else having these challenges? Tips from the pros?

High-altitude mama sweatin' it out in the South. Mama to DS, Feb. 07, and DD, April 2010.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 9 Old 06-07-2010, 07:02 PM

Well, I'm no pro and I hope that someone else has the answers because we're going through it here too. And same as you, it was fine for the first 6 weeks, but now my 3 yo is a TYRANT! I assume it's because he's figured out that the baby actually lives here! I am trying really hard to pay very close attention to his needs, and give him more mommy time and to let him know I know he's acting out because he needs me. It's very very hard to remain patient though, since he and his older brother are constantly fighting right now.

Mama to Finn (04/05) Arlo (04/07) and Henry (04/10)
#3 of 9 Old 06-08-2010, 12:20 AM

I'm feeling it here too. Dd2 who just turned 4 is out of control. I have found that doing something fun with just her (even if it's just for 5 minutes) is helping us re-connect.

A few evenings ago I pushed her on the swing and looked at our veggie garden with her for 10 minutes while dh held the baby and made dinner with dd1. This made a world of difference for her. It was obvious it did as her behaviour changed instantly.

Also, I am finding that just accepting her angry/sad outbursts (which always come at the most inconvenient times) has helped. She cries, I hug or nurse her and we move on.

I hope that you can both find a way to make things smooth out for your family. I'm right here with you.