It's time for "snarky answers to stupid questions!" - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-09-2010, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Gah...talking to extended family about having a baby.
They talk to me as though I'm stupid and can't learn anything on my own (hello! I have an advanced degree and do research for a living! and I've been helping to raise a stepdaughter since she was 2, which, no does not give me pregnancy or newborn experience but I can size kids' shoes, OK?), and as though the answers I give them ("no, we're not circumcising," "If he's gay, he's gay") just never occurred to them as a possibility. I can't snark back at them (too much), so I am posting my wished-for answers here.

"What will you do if your son turns out gay?"
"Um...throw him a coming out party? Hope Wisconsin gets its head out of its butt by the time he's old enough and wants to get married? Now, if he decides to live a left-handed lifestyle..."

"You know, he's going to be made fun of and get VD if you don't get him circumcised. Does that change your mind?"
"No, he'll be made fun of because he'll inherit my and my husband's need for glasses, braces, and lack of athletic ability, and he won't get VD because nobody's used that term in decades."

"He'll be born in July. Are you going to hold him back and put him into kindergarten at 6? He'll be better at sports."
"Holding him back until he's 19 probably won't do a darn thing for sports (see last answers). As for holding him back for other reasons, maybe I should wait to see whether those other reasons exist. Maybe he'll be ready for college at 6."

"Wow, you guys got off to a quick start! He's a honeymoon baby!"
"Actually, I'm not sure my husband is the father--could be a bachelorette party baby as well. He looked like he had my husband's forehead on the ultrasound, though, so there's hope."

So...what stupid questions and comments have you gotten?