Any crocheters in the group? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 03-30-2010, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Just curious if anyone else in our DDC likes to crochet?

It's kind of like sewing for me...I did it some when I was younger, but hadn't picked it up in a long while. I just got my hook out a few days ago and picked up some wool yarn at Joanns.

I'm making at wool sleep sack/cocoon thing and am about 1/3 of the way done with it! I would love to make a little hat for the bean as well, but I have no idea how. I'm mostly self-taught, so I have no idea how to read a pattern or do more than just the basic stitch. Anyone know of baby hat instructions that use crocheting lingo?

Elizabeth - Doing life with Scott partners.gif

SAHM to Evelyn - my crazy little Celiac (4) energy.gif Annabelle (2)  love.gif and Abraham (born 6/20) buddamomimg1.png
adoptionheart-1.gif  Follow our journey  mdcblog5.gif

#2 of 10 Old 03-30-2010, 06:32 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I haven't learned how to crochet, but I do knit. On ravelry.com I did a quick search in the pattern browser for crochet baby hats and there are quite a few to choose from, and free ones, too. Maybe you'll have some luck there.

Make sure you post pics of your crocheted cocoon!

Mama to a little man who arrived early on 7/18/10! DS2 due in October 2013.

#3 of 10 Old 03-30-2010, 07:11 PM

Yeah I was going to suggest Ravelry! I mostly knit (-er spin tons of yarn for work but thats a whole other thing!) but when I do crochet I don't use patterns either. I do more of a "free-form" thing.
For doing free form though you'd need some kind of measurements.. I've been trying to find a good source of measurements for NB/3-6 month/6-12 month heads for sewn bonnets and I cannot find ANYTHING online! Its nuts!
#4 of 10 Old 03-30-2010, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter