Ultrasound at first appointment?? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 12-29-2009, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello!! Found out I was pregnant on Christmas Eve and this is my first for me (2nd for DH). I haven't decided between ob/gyn or midwife and happened to have an appointment already scheduled with an ob/gyn for an annual exam and wanted to go and see her cause I've never seen an ob/gyn (only nurses and midwives for all annual exams). Anyways, I called to explain that I'm pregnant and they told me I would have an exam and ultrasound. At that point, I will be 7 1/2 weeks. Since this is my first time, is it normal to have an ultra sound this early? It sounds early to me.

Now, I'm starting to lean more towards a midwife...but I'm torn. Thought? Experiences? Anything would help! I don't have any friends or sisters that have kids so I don't have anyone to ask!! And although this is the second child for my DH, with his first, they didn't find out until the 2nd trimester.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 17 Old 12-29-2009, 05:53 PM

I may be biased since I'm not planning to have an ultrasound at all, and this is my first, too, so I don't really have experience, BUT it seems to me that if you're not having any symptoms of miscarriage and you are pretty certain of the date of conception, there's no reason for it.

Me, DH, and DS (9/18/10), living in a multi-generational household (non-pathetic way of saying we live in my parents' basement).
#3 of 17 Old 12-29-2009, 06:45 PM

Sounds too early to me if you are aren't having any problems. Here (in Sweden) the routine ultrasound is at 20 weeks. You can have one at 15 if you're having the CUB diagnostic (chromosome disorder test) and I had one at 9cuz I was puking my brains out.
I'm a MW fan! Good luck with your decision.

wife to DH mama to DD14 Jan '08 and DS 6 Sept '10
and 2 rescued greyhounds
#4 of 17 Old 12-29-2009, 06:47 PM