Anyone else a student? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 30 Old 01-30-2010, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a student in a FT demanding medical program- Respiratory Therapy. I love it but I had not planned on being pregnant during any of my schooling Last semester was horrible but doable. Not a lot of sleep and some days where I only saw my daughter for an hour, some days where she was in bed before I got home . This semester we're starting 12 hour shifts on top of school work, research papers, elementary presentations, oh yeah- and a freaking MANDATORY club that you have to participate it that has numerous, numerous functions around town including lung walks, bake sales, school activities etc. Did I mention that this is the most intense program in the state of Texas? Its seriously crazy and I have NO idea how I'm going to work this out. I just know that this has been done before and I know I can do this too. But I am just so exhausted everyday where I just almost literally pass out at bedtime. I've been lucky so far that DP's been great about helping me out and taking care of DD so I can try to squeeze in a nap right after school. Anyone "been there done that", or going through this right now? I'd love some advice or commiseration

Stephanienut.gif, RT, Mama to Jenergy.gif (4/06), Nfencing.gif (9/10), and someone new stork-girl.gif (2/14), partner to Vdrum.gif and Learning to take it one day at a timepraying.gif 
#2 of 30 Old 01-30-2010, 08:18 PM

That sounds awful! My schedule isn't nearly that bad so I feel guilty comparing it. But I am a student. I'm working on my Ph.D. I am a teaching assistant, I supervise students and I work at a counseling office part time. But I'm all done with my classes and still have a very flexible schedule.