Mothering Forum banner

Co-Sleeping w/sidecar

1K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  SuperKitten 
#1 ·
Hello! I've posted here only a few times, but I read my email updates every day.

For the first few months we'll be using an Arm's Reach Co-Sleeper only when necessary. I really like having baby in bed with me, but I also like the option of a safe place for her to be if I have to get out of bed for any reason, or if any of the other little ones climb into bed with us. After the Co-Sleeper we want to sidecar a crib for longer use (higher weight limit than the Arm's Reach), but I've never done that before. We have a crib that converts into a toddler bed, so it's structurally sound without the front panel. My question is; what is the best way to secure it to the side of the bed? I was thinking of keeping it tight between the wall and my side of the bed. Is that enough? Is there anything else I should be doing?

I've only ever co-slept with the bay solely IN bed with me before, so adding co-sleepers and a sidecar is new territory for me.

TIA!

See less See more
#3 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lit Chick View Post
You might want to check the nighttime parenting forum. I have no experience in this area, but I'm sure I've seen a lot of discussion on it over there.
I browse there. I only asked here because I remember there being a thread on it in the not too distant past, but I can't find it.

#5 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by MaerynPearl View Post
most mamas ive seen use bungee cords to hold the crib firmly to the bed so that if anything moves, it all moves, and does not create a gap between the crib and the bed.

like http://www.freewebs.com/sidecarcrib/
That's JUST what I was looking for!

Thank you so much.

#6 ·
I used that site to sidecar the crib with ds.

I used bungee cords then, and, well, didn't like it much. I felt like there was too much 'give'.