Choosing a care provider (or not) and/or hospital/birth center/homebirth - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 01-27-2010, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Was wondering how many have already started thinking about this? I guess a lot of you veteran mamas may already have established care providers that you'll continue with, but I'm brand new to all of this!

I selected my current OB based on the recommendation of my PCP (whom I LOVED, but whom has moved to another practice not covered by my insurance... so I need to search for a new PCP. Anyway, this OB delivered all of his kids, so I figured, if he's good enough for my doctor, he's probably good enough for me. Right?

WRONG! At least, so far. And it's not the OB I don't like. I actually DO like him. But in the 5 times that I've been there since my initial appointment with him, I've not been able to see him (I've had to see other docs and/or nurses). And, they don't give me a lot of personal attention, nor do they care (or believe in) my fertility charting. I really don't think they run their practice with the mentality that every woman and pregnancy is unique and that a woman knows best about her body/baby, etc.

Sooooo.... I am meeting with a CNMW in my area (who has been recommended on MDC) early next month to see if that's a better fit with me. She's in private practice w/ another OB, and the office manager told me to plan at least a couple hours for my visit, because they "like to really get to know their clients."

This would work out perfectly, because the midwife and OB deliver at the hospital I like, which has five birthing suites, all with laboring tubs and one with a waterbirth tub. I'm seriously into researching waterbirth as an option, and DP is freaked out by the idea of a HB, so a hospital waterbirth attended by a midwife would be a GREAT compromise!