first ob appt - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-23-2010, 09:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Everything about the baby (8 weeks and 2 days today) looks good.

Me on the other hand... I still have that annoying cyst, but she said it should be getting better withing the next few weeks. She ordered the papers from my ER visit on the 14th and apparently I have low platelets, elevated liver enzymes, and I am really anemic. Even with the prenatals I have with Iron, they arent enough... soo I got an rx for iron pills.

She ordered a bunch of labs to see what was going on with me, and a 24 hour urine. (its always fun keeping pee in your fridge... not)

If its not one thing its another. Ha. I go back in 4 weeks. And she told me no way, no how, was she allowing me to do a VBAC. I broke down and cried. I am going to contact my ICAN person and ask them about any friendly VBAC obgyns around.

"Damn it man, I'm a doctor, not a physicist!" -Bones McCoy. Ds1 6 bouncy.gif Dd1 4 energy.gifDd2 5 months baby.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2010, 10:40 AM

Glad to hear everything with the baby is okay. Hopefully you can get all your stuff figured out soon.

Is your OB against VBAC's in general, or just for your situation? Hopefully you can find a provider that will be supportive of your wishes.

Aimee - Wife to one hard working DH, SAHM to DD - Sunshine (5), DD - Cupcake (3), DS - Boo (1), and expecting a Surprise - Oct 2010!
Old 02-24-2010, 11:24 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Glad the baby is doing well, sorry the rest of the visit didn't go well.
Old 02-24-2010, 12:45 PM

"Allowing" you? Please contact ICAN ASAP and find a new doctor.

Iron absorption from most pills is usually poor. Check out a local health food store or Whole Foods and get Floradix liquid iron supplement. It tastes like feet, but it works great and is more bio-available than a pill.