How to tell baby's position from outside the womb? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 07-16-2010, 11:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey ladies,

There are so many experts here, so I thought I would ask: how does one tell the baby's position from the outside? I just turned 29 weeks today, and I meant to ask my midwife while she was measuring my fundal height, but I forgot! I keep feeling different hard masses, and I feel her hiccups from real low down in my pelvic region. Are there any other ways to tell? Of course I realize that her position could still change, but I won't be returning to the midwife for another two weeks, and I'm dying to have just one more way to get close to my sweet baby girl. Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

I'm a professor and a domestic goddess married to my ideal mate. We are living in bliss with our new baby girl, Rowan Graham, born October 8, 2010.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 14 Old 07-16-2010, 11:43 PM

Well, I'm no expert, but I feel the hard masses too...usually on one side or the other. My midwife said that baby is head down right now and the hard mass is her bum! It makes sense because I feel the kicks to one side or another (and up high). I feel a jumping sensation down low and I didn't think of them as hiccups before. That makes sense! The midwife said the baby is still small enough to twist and turn, so that's why the bum will be on one side or the other, even though her head is staying down. Also, sometimes I stick out more in front and the midwife said the baby still has room to bend in half with the head down.

After the explanation she gave me at my appointment on Monday, I feel like I have a much better understanding of how she's laying in there whereas before I couldn't imagine. I'm just past 28 weeks myself.
#3 of 14 Old 07-16-2010, 11:53 PM - Thread Starter