The 'What Ifs' - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 10-15-2010, 04:02 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello Jamie!

My question involves my career.

I am an architect and have always been ambivalent about the profession. I did very well in school and am reasonably 'successful'. However, a part of me is dissatisfied and wonders 'what if'. I used to be very driven and passionate about architecture. Since school, I've felt it might not be the best fit and that I'm mediocre at it.

In the last couple years I've been pursuing photography as a serious hobby. It's not a lucrative field and I am anxious about making a change at my age!

My question to you is whether you see a better career path for me than what I am doing now (better as in I'd be better at what I was doing and happier). I would not mind sticking with architecture, since it's tough to let go of what I've achieved. I suppose I am suffering from a huge case of the 'what if's.

Thanks in advance!

Hoping for a first with my DF (dear fiance)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 2 Old 10-17-2010, 12:41 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi Kitty-
The What ifs....boy, I know so many people there right now. So much is changing in our world. Many people are realizing that they want to be doing work they are excited and passionate about, not just what pays the bills. I get asked this type of question all the time. I'm really happy to see people reaching for their full potential. It's a very exciting time!

I want to tell you that the vibe I am getting about you is that you are very good at architecture. I also see you staying in it. I think you have chosen the right path as far as career goes. That doesn't mean you will stay in it forever, until you retire. But I do see you happily in it for quite a bit more time.