Baby Zayd is here! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 11-30-2010, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Born with my CPM out-of-hospital where it's legal  ;)  on 11/28/2010  at 12:50 AM.  :D  His birth was fabulous and I'm still in absolute amazement over how everything went so well and my body just knew exactly what to do.  :) (more later on his birth story, but it was a hands-and-knees delivery, which is a position I have never used before and never thought I would use--till I found myself doing it!  and it was *perfect* because he had a short umbilical cord and my midwife said that is the best position for a baby with a short cord.)   I had an absolutely AMAZING doula--for FREE because she's training--I was her first "Official DONA" birth.  She was absolutely AMAZING.

However, we are in the hospital.  I am fine.  Baby was born with a condition called Low Imperforate Anus.  (there is a hole, but it is smaller than normal)  We have a caring bridge site www.caringbridge.org/babyzayd  with a little more about that and that will have updates.  :)

He is doing *very well* other than that.

Here is something I can discuss here that I haven't discussed much "publicly."

Even though we are in a hospital now, I am thrilled that he was not born in one.  He was perfectly healthy and beautiful at birth.  He nursed right away.   We were able to take him to our home the next morning, and he spent the next day with our family.  His siblings got to see and hold him.