Anyone else dealing with "colic"? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 12-27-2010, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Clara is having a horrible time with evenings.  She starts fussing about 6:30 and it is 10 or 11 before she really settles for the night.  I keep thinking it is gas problems, but she fine during the day and all night.  I cut out dairy, but gas was the only symptom- no green poop or rashes.

I just can't figure it out. 

DD1 was always asleep by 7:30 or 8 and was out for the night. 

She also has a lot of little burps, so I wonder if it is reflux, but then again she naps well during the day.

I'm not very good with things that don't seem to make sense- what is colic and why?

Meghan, Married to Scott, Mother to Audrey- 2, and Expecting Nov 10th
#2 of 27 Old 12-28-2010, 07:31 AM

There isn't necessarily an explanation, at least not a physical problem that you can fix. Some posit that "colic" or the evening fussies are part of  neurological development - babies all of a sudden "wake up" to the world and have trouble understanding or "digesting" all the sensations. Crying is their way of dealing with the stress of it all.

At least, that's one theory.

My DS, who is now 3.75, definitely went through an unexplainable fussy period. All we could really do was comfort and support him while he cried and cried. It was HARD at times, and it definitely helped to have a plan as far as each parent only dealing with him for a short amount of time (ie, switching off every 30 minutes or so). Hardest was when he went through such a period when I was home alone, and I know i faced some dark times when that happened.