First timers' thread? Other mamas please share experience/advice! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 08-27-2010, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all,
I thought I'd start a thread for those of us who are going to be moms for the first time. This can be a place where we can share our fears, uncertainties, questions, excitement over the changes that will be coming with a new baby. Experienced moms, I would love your advice.

So, what are you worried about changing? How do you feel about entering this new life phase? What are you most looking forward to?

I got really bummed last night because I realized I wouldn't be able to take part in a writing workshop, with a novelist I admire, because I will be (if all goes well) having a baby the week before! For some reason this made it all seem more real to me--it triggered a bunch of stuff about career and identity. I am a writer and am so worried about neglecting it once I have a baby; I know I will need to work out ways to build in time to nurture my own intellectual and career development, but this intimidates me.

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#2 of 22 Old 08-27-2010, 02:45 PM

I look forward to being a SAHM. I have wanted to leave work for a few years though DH says he's okay with me leaving anytime, I plan work until Jan, take my sabbatical and possibly not return. I worry about the money because my income will be a huge loss, which is why I plan to stay at work as long as I do so I feel better about the savings account. Otherwise I just look forward to the change, and don't feel I will be missing out on anything. I will be leaving behind a career that does not excite me (software engineer), and starting a whole new journey. When the time comes that I need a little bit of space from baby, I can teach yoga, or help DH with the business.