Feeding the Freezer - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 71 Old 11-30-2010, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Is anyone else planning on stocking their freezer before baby arrives? I thought it would be nice to have a place to share our plans, recipes, and tips. This thread in the meal planning forum has a lot of great recipes and ideas, but it's super long!

With DS, we lived in a tiny apartment and didn't have the room to cook OAMC-style, so we just got a couple months worth of meals from Dream Dinners. This time, I'd like to have about six months worth of breakfasts and dinners put away by the time baby arrives and we just can't afford to get that much from Dream Dinners (and they don't do breakfasts anyway). I'm new to freezer cooking, but excited about the prospect of having very little meal planning/prep to do for the first 4-6 months of baby's life. I'm still in the planning stages now, but hoping to get started cooking after the holidays.

Anyone here do this with previous babies or do freezer cooking outside of prepping for the postpartum period? I would love to hear your tips and tricks and see some of your favorite recipes!

Mama to DS1 (12/07), DS2 (4/11), and DD (6/22/14)
Finally diagnosed with APS after 3 s (11/09, 3/10, 7/13)
#2 of 71 Old 11-30-2010, 05:37 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Oooh! I froze a ton of meals before DD was born, and it made those first few months postpartum SO much easier!!!! I know if I hadn't of done this, we would have eaten a ton of take-out. BLECH! Bad for the wallet and the body!