Anyone else living in a small apartment and worried about fitting in baby stuff? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 01-23-2011, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I posted a similar thread in the "Mindful Home" forum but I'm anxious to know--who else lives in a small space? What are you doing to make way for baby stuff? How are you planning to fit everything--storage ideas?

People are already handing stuff down to us and I'm starting to panic about where to fit it all. We're trying to sort through and declutter but it's going to be a tight squeeze.

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#2 of 27 Old 01-23-2011, 02:34 PM

We don't live in an apartment but we have a fairly small two bedroom house and this will be our fourth. Maximizing closet space is a big deal. Get organizers, etc. Be realistic about how many clothes you need. Now babies do poop and pee a lot and go through a lot of clothes but don't go overboard. We will have one dresser for baby things, use a desk as a changing table and maximize the space under the crib/bassinet. Decide which equipment is most important. I'll have a travel swing (love them because you can drag them all over the house) and a bassinet for baby equipment at first. I had 3 showers with my first and I had TOO much stuff. It was insane and stressful since we lived in a small apartment then. I've learned that less is more!

Stacey reading.gif Happy wife to Rick coolshine.gif ,homeschooling Mama to Jacob, Noel, Joanna jumpers.gif  and a sweet stork-girl.gif due in the Spring!
#3 of 27 Old 01-23-2011, 02:42 PM

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)