The Diaper Bag question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 23 Old 03-04-2011, 09:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've struggled with diaper bags much like I've struggled with purses for decades now. 

Do you use a diaper bag? 

What type of bag do you prefer? 

Is there any type/brand you would recommend?

What I've been using for nearly three years now is actually a gardening tote bag I got for 3 bucks at target...it's cute, it has the one main compartment and then 8 pockets all around the outside. It has worked great, but It's getting raggedy and I'm also kind of over the short handles which aren't great for slinging over your shoulder, plus using a baby carrier = not too compatible. So I've been thinking about a replacement for a few months now. I just have no idea what I want! 

How have you handled the "I have to carry a bunch of crap with me everywhere I go" problem? 

Mama to Ella (1/15/08) and Django (03/20/11) - remembering 2 angel.gif
#2 of 23 Old 03-04-2011, 09:41 PM

I just use a purse as my diaper bag.  I have a nice purse that has a crossbody strap (to wear messenger-style) as well as a shoulder strap (I most frequently wear it crossbody especially if I'm babywearing).  I like to wear it across my body opposite the direction of my ring sling.  

It isn't huge, but it is large enough to carry my wallet, phone, keys, an extra cloth diaper, small wetbag, small ziploc with a few moistened cloth wipes, and if needed a small snack container and stainless steel sippy cup.  

It still looks nice and is comfy to wear around on the rare occasions when I'm not in "mommy-mode", but it is totally functional as a diaper bag for everyday outings.  I tried having a separate diaper bag but quickly became frustrated with carrying two bags and/or forgetting to transfer my wallet, keys, or phone, etc... if I only wanted to carry one bag.