Baby care kit & medical supplies? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 03-08-2011, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My friend told me this is a good thing to register for, but there are so many options my head is spinning. Did anyone have one that they particularly liked? What baby care first aid/hygeine items did you find most essential? (Nail clippers, aspirator, etc.)

Thanks! Also, while we're on this, what, in your mind, are the medical essentials to have on hand?

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#2 of 12 Old 03-08-2011, 07:45 PM

Nail clippers are good, but after awhile I found it was easier to just tear the baby nails off (they're super thin for awhile). Having a pair with a safety feature so you don't cut the baby's finger is good.... nothing worse than cutting your babe's finger :P

I love having an aspirator where the bit that goes into the nostril isn't straight all the way up, but has a bit that bumps out so you don't poke all the way into the poor thing's sinus by accident. Something like this one

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3721547&CAWELAID=403515237

We bought a humidifier (is that the right term? It's sounding wrong) when our first was born, but have only used it once. It's a good thing to have though, just in case.

There's not a whole lot that we've used for our babies... shampoo, soap, unscented lotion, olive oil for cradle cap, occasionally diaper creme.

Medical supplies... hmm. It might not hurt to have some gas drops or gripe water on hand. Some infant tylenol maybe. Cord care stuff (I forget what they recommend..).

Allison.... mom of DS1 (7) and DS2 (4) and awaiting #3 near the end of April 2011
#3 of 12 Old 03-08-2011, 08:06 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)