Going back to work... if no C-section how short is too short? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-05-2011, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi Mamas,

I am due June 28th with our first.  We are very, very excited.  However, I am a full-time law student and this will be the summer before my last year.  It is considered the most vital summer to "beef up" one's resume in order to get hired after. 

I was able to lock down working with a few non-profits for three weeks before I go on my self-imposed maternity leave about June 6th... but was just offered an (PAID!  Very rare these days) internship that would begin around July 18th, which leaves me like 3-4 weeks home with DD.

Am I biting off more than I can chew?  DH is going to be the SAHD while I am away.  I plan to pump, and want to avoid formula.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-05-2011, 03:41 PM

DDCC

I think going back to work that soon would be very very difficult.  You could have the baby late- I have, all 3 of mine were late- and only have a week with baby before heading out to work.  I can't imagine going back to work a week or even 3 after having my first child.  You're hormones will be all out of wack, breastfeeding will just be getting started, you'll be getting little sleep, and on and on. 

Amy, mom to LadyBug, SnuggleBug and StinkBug.  Expecting BabyBug in August 2011.
Old 04-05-2011, 05:30 PM

I think it will be extremely rough but doable. 

Harmony, mom of dd (14), ds (11), ds (4) and having #4 in June
Old 04-05-2011, 05:41 PM

3-4 weeks sounds doable. Not fun, but doable. Definitely get all your resources together as far as breastfeeding (LLL, lactation consultants, etc), so you can nip any problems in the bud and get a really good start on breastfeeding while you are on mat leave.

I would also take into consideration that this is your first baby and first babies are often late...so your 3-4 weeks could be much shorter.