Getting back on the grief train...losing my mom after having a miscarriage - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-02-2011, 10:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This is my first time posting on this forum.  Three months ago I lost my baby at 12.5 weeks pregnant.  The miscarriage really shook me up and I was just starting to feel like I was returning to "normal" and today I found out my mother has metastized breast cancer in several places in her body.  The dr. wouldn't tell her anymore than that over the phone, but this is her third bout with cancer and she has been having pain symptoms for at least six months.  Couldn't get an accurate diagnosis (insurance wouldn't cover another PET scan) until today.   

I feel like I am still in a place of deep shock, even though I wasn't expecting good news.  I am angry that life is so unfair.  I am terrified of dying myself and the thought of watching my mom suffer is unbearable to me.  Her younger sister died the same way at 41 (my mom is now 61, she was 10 years older).  I really don't know what else to say other than how do you cope with losing your mother?  How do you hold your family together?  What do I tell my 5 year old who loves her grammy so very much?

I managed to get through the miscarriage grief without going back into counseling (I've haven't been to therapy in 2 years - related to childhood trauma) but I suppose it would be a good self-care plan to contact my therapist at this point.  Mostly I just don't know if I am emotionally strong enough to be there for my parents at this point but I don't think I have a choice.  Thanks for any advice from those who have been there.

Hey
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2011, 12:24 PM