still not over my miscarriage 4 months later - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 10-22-2011, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm a graduate student, graduating at the end of this semester (December 2011). Given the tight job market, about a year ago my husband and I planned to TTC in the spring so we could have our first child right when I finished my program, then I could look for a job when I was ready. I'd heard all about how hard it was to time everything perfectly when TTC, but lo and behold, it worked, and I was pregnant with a due date in early February. Then I miscarried in July at 8 weeks along. I am a careful planner by nature and what I mourned most was this perfect timing that I had planned for myself.

After I miscarried I was completely devastated, but, I thought "ok well we can try again for a couple more cycles. if it doesn't work I will have to turn my attention toward finding a job.". TTCing didn't work-- I imagine because my cycles were so wonky after the MC. I begrudgingly realized I would have to focus on finding a job. Then the lucky news happened last week that I landed a prestigious job in my field.

I should be beside myself with excitement- I got the first job I applied for, I get to start in December right when I finish school, it pays well, etc. But I don't care. I feel such intense malaise at the idea of this great job in my field because what I wanted at this juncture in my life was a baby. It's just starting to hit me hard that we have to put TTCing on the shelf until I've been at my job for 3 months so we qualify for FMLA.

It just took so much emotional work to ready myself to have a baby (I'm not really that into children). I wasn't even sure how I would feel back in May when I found out I was pregnant. I surprised myself by feeling this whole new kind of scary joy I had never felt before. And then it was snatched away from me.