5.5 yr old DD doesn't like her name & wants to change it - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 32 Old 03-02-2010, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Her name is Marlena. She wants to be called Grace.

Here is the funny thing. I didn't pick the name. I am not good at picking names and let my DH handle it. He did a great job with our first born son, but names is not something I like to obsess on.

He gave me a few choices and I didn't love any of them (Sophia, Katie, etc...) and I settled for Marlena because I felt pressured to choose something. (I love LENA, but I don't call her that. We used to call her Laney as a baby, but she didn't love that.)

For the first 1.5 yr, I kept saying to myself and friends that I hated her name. I really did. I finally got over it. But it is amazing she picked up on that!!!

I don't ever talk about it anymore, not since she was a baby.

I'd be willing to "officially" change her name. DH doesn't want to. Do you know anyone who has done it? I actually like Grace a lot better than Marlena.

Thanks.

10 - boy
5.5 - girl
#2 of 32 Old 03-02-2010, 02:19 PM

My mother's name was officially changed from Elizabeth to Betsy when she was 2 or 3. I obviously wasn't around so I have no idea how it went. Family legend says it was because my grandma hated that people kept calling her Liz.

What do you DD and DH think of Lena?

Kristy, wife to Josh proud mama to Katie: since 3/08 and Emma since 8/12.

#3 of 32 Old 03-02-2010, 02:24 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I don't think I would officially changer her name just yet. After all she is only 5.5 right now and there may be many times she wants to change her name over the coming years.