Whats your opinon on diet changes the way children behave? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-19-2011, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have recently been figuring out that sugar makes my 3yr old son act out of control. I have a degree in early childhood education and we were always taught that it does not affect a child in that big of a way. Well let me tell you what he eats/drinks and then how he behaves a half hour to hour later.

Yesterday:

Eggs and Toast with Milk for breakfast- Such a good boy all morning I did not have to talk to him one time at all he played wonderfully in his bedroom building with legos and blocks.

Mac and Cheese and hot dog for lunch with 1 glass of watered down half the amount of sugar kool aid- He was falling asleep eating lunch when I laid him down after lunch he got a burst of engery and was awake for another hour and a half laying in bed before he fell asleep.

Buttered Noodles, Ham, and spinach for dinner and a glass of milk/ after dinner her got to eat 2 rolls of Smarties- Once Dad got home about an hour or a little over later he was literally bouncing off the walls! Time outs were not calming him down, removing him from the situation was not working. I tried everything!

Eventually he wore himself out and got a nice calming lavendar bath and we read some books and he went right to sleep!

This Morning he decided he did not like eggs or pancakes or cereal (this happens every once in awhile) So he wanted 2 pieces of jelly toast. I tried sneaking some peanut butter under the jelly but he noticed so just jelly on toast it was with a glass of water because he also does not like milk today appreantly! With in a half hour he was extremely loud and running around the house. He was randomly growling and would not be quiet for me when I was on the phone which he normally is. He was not even interested in his cartoons on PBS which he ALWAYS watches!