Do you have a Girl Scout? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 04-21-2011, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I  never did Scouts when I was a girl, but I always wanted to.  My daughter has seen the other girls in their uniforms and is very very interested.  She's five and has a neurological issue that require using a walker sometimes.  She's SO READY to have some activities so I'm trying to find things she can do that will accommodate her walker and occasional difficulty with walking.  Scouts seems a good fit or at least they give a lot of lip service to being inclusive.

What's it like?  Is it expensive?  I'm happy and eager to volunteer with anything she's involved in but as I said, I have zero experience with Scouts.  Is there anything I should know in advance?  Would you recommend Girl Scouts and does your daughter enjoy it?

#2 of 13 Old 04-21-2011, 10:24 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My DD isn't old enough for scouts yet, but my best friend leads her DD's Daisy troop (they're Daisies for K and First, then "graduate"). Scouting is definitely not expensive.

I think the overall experience depends on who the troop leaders are. My friend works really hard to give her troop a wide range of interesting experiences (visiting a fire station, going hiking, etc.), as well as the standard arts-n-crafts stuff, but I know other local girls who are in troops that are pretty dull. It takes quite a bit of time and commitment from the leaders to make it fun.

If you have a network of moms where you live, start letting them know that you're looking for a good troop.

best of luck,

-e

Momma to 8 y.o. DS and 5 y.o. DD. Married to a Maker!

#3 of 13 Old 04-21-2011, 10:43 PM