5 yo dd broke both wrists at school - Mothering Forums

#1 of 8 Old 05-11-2011, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have no experience whatsoever with broken bones, so I don't really know what's normal. They gave her Advil in the hospital and that's what we've been using, but she still has some pain after 48 hours. Can anybody tell me how long "normal" pain and discomfort should last after a fracture? She broke both bones in both wrists so I fully expect some stiffness and soreness and her level does not seem excessive.

I'm also uncertain about when she should return to school. I'm fine keeping her home but she is getting bored and wants to go back. The kindergarten teacher will help her get her lunch opened and ready to eat and there is an assistant who can help to in the bathroom if necessary. I am worried that she cannot be monitored closely enough on the playground to ensure that she won't fall down and hurt her arms.

Any advice from somebody who's "btdt"?

Diane, SAHM to DD (June 05) and DS (April 07).
::::
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 05-11-2011, 11:03 AM

No advice just flowersforyou.gif awww your dd is a trooper!  I hope she feels less pain soon, that had to have been a scary experience for both of you.

Youngfrankenstein likes this.
#3 of 8 Old 05-11-2011, 11:25 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I'd talk to the doctor about school and pain meds. Is there an alternative she can do at recess? At our school kids can go to the library during recess.

I'm surprised they only gave you advil. I would have expected to be sent home with a stronger pain killer to use as needed (heck that's what we got for ds when he had minor surgery. I think I gave him one dose and the rest is still in my cupboard, waiting for me to figure out how to dispose of it so it doesn't go into the water supply).