When should kids stop eating with their fingers? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 08-19-2011, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am a newlywed and a stepmom, and I'm having a hard time adjusting. My stepson is 8 1/2, and he has the WORST habits and manners. His mom obviously doesn't care about teaching him hygiene or manners. He only bathes twice a week, and his teeth are turning yellow from never brushing them. We only get him every other weekend and try to enforce better behavior when he's with us, but the thing that drives me absolutely bonkers is that he still uses his hands to eat. I've tried teaching him not to use his fingers, but everytime I bring it up, my husband snaps at me to lay off of him. Am I nuts, or are these behaviors a little odd for kids his age? I am new to being a "mom" so I don't know what age kids grow out of these things. HELP!

#2 of 16 Old 08-19-2011, 08:23 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)

8 1/2 does seem a bit old, but I would concentrate on establishing a positive relationship with your stepson instead of fixing the habits that bug you.  This is far, far more important to your new marriage and family than any hygiene issue.  Once you establish that, you are better footing to talk about these issues.  Just don't spring this on your husband.  Talk to him, first.  

"Let me see you stripped down to the bone. Let me hear you speaking just for me."
#3 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 03:41 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

My 8.5 year old only bathes twice a week . . . sometimes less (!) . .. . depends on the weather and how dirty he gets. In the summer when it's warm he may bath daily if he gets grungy. In the winter . .. . it is probably once a week (he doesn't play sports and isn't particularly rough and tumble). My point . . . . I don't think the bathing is necessarily a sign of bad hygiene! If he's dirty when you have him, give him a bath. End of story.