do you urge your children to "color in the lines"? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 75 Old 10-28-2011, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

i don't, and they sure don't do it. but i see/hear other parents urging their kids to color in the lines, and color neatly all the time. my daughter is 5 and has never particularly liked coloring. she has no patience for it, and prefers to run around and socialize. my son is only 2 so this hasn't come up yet. 

but is there a real virtue to coloring neatly / in the lines? just curious. thanks for your opinions.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 75 Old 10-28-2011, 04:04 PM

Nope.

But then, I was never known for coloring inside the lines, either.

Chasing DS since April 2007 and pumping for DD March 2013.

#3 of 75 Old 10-28-2011, 04:06 PM

I work as a substitute teacher's aid in the public school system.  The teachers often encourage Kindergartners to color in the lines to help with their fine motor skills.  I think there is some virtue in this, especially if you have a child who hates printing but will practice fine motor skills by coloring.  OTOH, I never bother my kids about this at home.  They get enough directives at school.  And drawing and coloring your own picture is clearly superior practice on many fronts, as it helps fine motor skills and encourages creativity and visual perception.  I tell my 7 year old to color "the way the teacher asks him to" (in the lines and all in one direction) at school and however he likes at home.

journeymom and gcgirl like this.

Busy keeping up with three children and an awful lot of chickens!

#4 of 75 Old 10-28-2011, 04:07 PM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)