Birthday party for 6-yo DD. Tips appreciated! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 06-14-2012, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This is the first party we are planning with dd's friends invited.  We plan on being in the backyard with the sprinkler and baby pool.  We'll have a game or two (water balloons), a simple craft, a pinata as well as cake.  How long should we plan on the party going?  2 hours or 3 hours?  There will be up to 6 girls and I expect some parents may want to stay.  Also, does anyone have any advice for what to do or what to not do?  I've never done a kids party before and would like it to smoothly.  TIA!

J A with DD1 7/06, lost twins 9/08
DD2 12/09 & DS1 12/09
#2 of 8 Old 06-15-2012, 06:43 AM

Make sure that if you have things to give away (favors) they are all the SAME.  The number of breakdowns I have seen over so and so got a blue one and *I* wanted the blue one is immense!  You think variety is the spice of life, but not when you are that little!!!  We have a saying at Ds's preschool when we are buying new supplies get "all the same and no one's favorite color"

Don't assume they are going to want to engage in prearranged games.  They might just want to play.  Organized games are great to have on hand, but don't be upset if they only do them for 5 mins and move on to some other kind of play.

SNACKS!  Kids love food!  Having snacks in addition to cake is essential or they will get too hunger and grumpy and then sugar high and then crash.

#3 of 8 Old 06-15-2012, 11:21 AM

Location: Where creepy facebook-featured threads can't find me
Quoted: 4 Post(s)