How'd you find your pediatrician? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-02-2012, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm a little different from most of the people posting on this site because I am not a mother. I am a college student aspiring to become a pediatrician. I want to be the best pediatrician that I can be, so I was hoping to get some advice from everybody. 

I assume that most people have already found pediatricians for their children, so I was just wondering, what were some things that you guys looked at when considering a pediatrician? What factors influenced your decisions? Was there anything that you found that made you absolutely not want to go to a certain pediatrician?

Thank you,

Liz

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2012, 06:46 PM

I based on who will not push vaxing and the flu shot, we went through four peds before we found the right one.
Old 11-02-2012, 07:49 PM

Quoted: 35 Post(s)
I found our first one through my family practice intern. He got us in with a great pediatrician. She was friendly but hee focus was on the child's well being. She was also very patient with first time mom questions. When my car broke down when dd was four I told her it was hard to get out that far and she got us into our current amazing pediatrician who works in the same practice at a location a few miles from our home. I like her because she has a lot of experience so isn't quick to push medicine or costly tests. She is all about the kids and focuses most of her attention on them as her patients which is also a big plus for a school age child who loves to feel important.
Old 11-02-2012, 11:53 PM

I found ours through word of mouth. Proximity to our house was another factor. What kept us was respectful care - the docs were great to me and the kids, listened to my concerns and didn't dismiss me even when I had questions about delay vax etc. I felt that the doc was a partner in my kids health.